I like booze. I like fruit. Why should they not marry more often?
A friend on Twitter asked me the other day if I knew of any grain/gluten-free crisp recipes off-hand. I referred her to Elana’s Pantry who has an amazing pear crisp recipe in The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook. I also told her if she gave me a week, I’d give her a unique recipe.
And I’m a woman of my word. Hiccup.
I’m not sure where this idea came from. I think I was in the pantry getting bay leafs for the chicken stock when I saw the Baileys and decided I wanted a small glass on the rocks. And then I was in the kitchen looking at the fruit bowl and the pear that had about 4 more minutes of life left. And then in literally 10 minutes, I made this. It’s so quick and so easy.
It is one of the most delicious things I’ve had in a long time and contains no grain, no refined sugar (and only a touch of honey), and only a tiny bit of Irish Cream. I had three bites and had to walk away. Of course, though all-natural this is a special treat and I only made a small little dish; hence the “for two.” If you want to make a bigger batch, just multiply the ingredients up. (E-mail me if you need help.)
Irish Cream (Baileys) Grain/Gluten-Free* Pear Crisp for Two
What you need:
For the filling:
1 pear, peeled and diced
1/4 c. Irish Cream
pat of butter
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. honey (optional – the Baileys really is sweet enough)
For the topping:
2/3 c. walnuts
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
drizzle of honey – maybe 1 tsp.
1 tbsp. coconut (or other) flour
1 tbsp butter, melted
What you do:
- In a saucepan, add all filling ingredients. Bring to boil.
- Meanwhile in a food processor or blender, pulse the nuts, cinnamon, and flour until small pieces (see pic below)
- Pour into a bowl and slowly drizzle in the melted butter until “crumbs” form.
- When the pear mixture has reduced to thick liquid, pour into bakeware.
- Top with “crumbs” and pop in the broiler for 3-5 minutes (checking often if you’re neurotic like me and have burned one too many things) until the crumbs slightly brown.
*Note: There’s been some discussion on whether or not Bailey’s is gluten-free. Bailey’s released this statement which seems to me like a blanket CYA (cover your ass) statement:
“Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys® is manufactured by fermenting grain which contains Gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys®.”
However, if the only potential source of gluten comes from the whiskey, the Celiac Association says this:
“ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including Whiskey, bourbon and gin”
Here is a total list of gluten-free alcohol for those interested.
Here’s my CYA statment: if you are Celiac and gluten-free and concerned about the use of Baileys, skip it. Sub cream and vanilla in place of the Baileys.